Elkhart County Sheriff's Department

Volunteer

Volunteer

How good people can get involved

The worth of corrections programs in Elkhart County is immeasurable. The participating clergy, lay people, educators, and mentors offer compassion and counsel to inmates wanting and needing direction in their lives.

Cory Martin is the lead corrections chaplain, working full time in a non-denominational role. He serves as a liaison between inmates, their families and the corrections staff, and has earned the trust and respect of all those involved.

Individuals interested in participating as a volunteer in the correctional facility must submit an application and attend a volunteer orientation. Volunteer orientations are typically held once a month in the training room of the jail. The training room can be accessed through the employee entrance which is in front of the handicap parking spaces at the back of the building. Orientations are currently scheduled on the following dates and times:

  • Wednesday 11/08/17 at 5pm
  • Thursday12/07/17 at 5pm
  • Wednesday 1/3/18 at 5pm
  • Tuesday 2/6/18 at 5pm
  • Monday 3/5/18 at 5pm
  • Thursday 4/5/18 at 5pm
  • Wednesday 5/2/18 at 5pm
  • Tuesday 6/5/18 at 5pm
  • Monday 7/2/18 at 5pm
  • Thursday 8/2/18 at 5pm
  • Wednesday 9/5/18 at 5pm
  • Tuesday 10/2/18 at 5pm
  • Monday 11/5/18 at 5pm
  • Thursday 12/6/18 at 5pm

Submitted applications will not be reviewed or approved until an individual has attended an orientation.

Once the application has been approved, volunteers can use classrooms or interview rooms any day between 9am to 11:30am, 1:30pm to 3pm, and 6:30pm to 9pm. Arrangements to use a room may be made by emailing Lt. Kris Klosinski. Rooms not reserved in advance will be utilized on a first-come first-served basis.

Approved volunteers must also submit any course or program materials to Lt. Kris Klosinski for review and acceptance.

Volunteers will not be allowed to use a room to visit an inmate to whom they are related.

Volunteer Application