How to obtain a gun permit
State law governs the procedures for handgun permits. Applicants must be at least 18 years old and not have any felony convictions. Misdemeanor convictions on charges of domestic battery or violence also are not allowed.
To receive a permit through the Elkhart County Sheriff's Department, a person must reside in an unincorporated area of Elkhart County. Residents of a municipality need to go through their city police agency. A resident of another state, if employed full-time at an Elkhart County business, also may apply at the Sheriff's Department.
Prior to visiting the Sheriff's Department offices, the online application must be completed and all applicable state fees must be paid. Upon completion of the online application, the applicant must have his or her fingerprints taken. This has to be completed electronically using designated L-1 Identity Solutions, Inc. sites which are available at several locations in the area. There is an additional fee for electronic fingerprinting and can be arranged by appointment at 1-877-472-6917 or online after finishing the application.
*** PLEASE NOTE ***
Effective January 1, 2017, The Indiana State Police Firearms Licensing Unit will no longer accept payment for firearms license applications, duplicate license requests or manual inked fingerprint cards by mail. If a payment or fingerprint card is received by mail, it will be returned to the applicant.
Application payments must be made electronically through the Fireaems License Application Portal. Please contact your Local Law Enforcement Agency for special circumstances.
The Indiana State Police Department is no longer accepting manual name change forms, manual address change forms or manual duplicate license request forms. All changes must be completed online through the Indiana State Police Handgun Licensing Portal. Click the appropriate link below to begin your online process.
Local fees to apply for a license that are paid at the Elkhart County Sheriff's Department:
- $10 for a four-year permit
- $40 for a lifetime permit with a current state handgun license
- $50 for a lifetime permit without a current state handgun license
Permits may not be renewed more than 180 days prior to expiration.
All applications are subject to a waiting period of up to four weeks for the completion of a criminal history. At the conclusion of the background check, the records division will electronically submit the application to the state with a recommendation to approve or deny the application. In many cases, applicants are frequently denied due to an applicant failing to list all previous criminal convictions, which will cause delays in the approval process.
States honoring Indiana handgun permits: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. Illinois does not honor an Indiana license.